Kek Gula Hangus a.k.a. Kek Sarang Semut

Wow! 11 months since my last post! Believe me, I have a very good reason but it’s not something I want to mention here so lets get on with it =).

I haven’t baked in ages. Kalau kek tu rasanya dah bertahun tak buat. Mainly because I’m not a fan of cakes, and also because I don’t fancy baking too much. Last week however, my better half decided to have some guests over and only took the liberty of informing me on the morning of the said day.

Kalau ikutkan, memang nak naik hangin la kan cause I hadn’t prepared anything to serve and I didn’t have the ingredients to prepare anything to serve, not to mention TIME to prepare anything to serve duh! Takkan la semua jam tu jugak nak buat… pegi kedai, prepare ingredients, cook, etc. With 3 kids, one special and one is less than a year old… come on!

Better half said he’d buy something like bread, or kuih but me being me…. kalau dah namanya nak menjamu tetamu, I’ve always preferred to prepare something home made. Even something as simple as a kek sarang semut.

This is one of the easiest cakes to make, trust me. You don’t need fancy ingredients which means, you can whip it up anytime. Ye la, kalau ikut normal standard, every household has sugar, eggs and butter kan?

So here we go…

Bahan-bahan / Ingredients

  • 1.5 cawan (cup) gula (sugar)
  • 1.5 cawan air panas (hot water)
  • 1.5 cawan tepung (flour)
  • 1.5 cawan susu pekat (sweetened condensed milk)
  • 6 biji telur (eggs)
  • 3 sudu teh (teaspoon) soda bikarbonat (bicarbonate of soda)
  • 3 sudu besar (tablespoon) marjerin (margarine)
Caramelizing the sugar.

First of all, in a small pot, caramelize the sugar by heating it on medium fire. Once sugar has completely melted into a golden brown syrup, add hot water. This will splatter so be careful! Keep stirring until all lumps have dissolved. Add in margarine and let it melt. Turn off fire and set sugar mixture aside to cool.

Whisked eggs.

Beat eggs until light and fluffy using an electric whisker/mixer. Add in condensed milk, followed by flour and bicarbonate of soda. Lastly, slowly pour in the sugar mixture (warm, not hot or the eggs will start to curdle). Gently stir to mix.

Leave to ferment (peram) at room temperature for at least 45 mins. When ready to bake, heat oven to 180C. Transfer batter into an 8″ pan (greased and floured) and bake for 1 hour, or until done.

Note :

Kalau ikut resepi asal suruh peram 3-4 jam. Whoever has the time?? I’ve made this twice and both times peram under 1 hour. Alhamdulillah, menjadi jugak hehehe…

I think for the sarang to menjadi, you need to beat the eggs until light and fluffy. Also to use the sugar mixture while it’s still warm, as that will help with the fermenting process (much like putting a bread dough in a warm place to help the yeast ferment and double the size of the dough… I think, hehehe). It’s the fermenting process that produces all that little holes (sarang) in the cake.

All I can say, this cake is really nice. Which explains why I’ve made this twice within the span of 1 week, considering my aversion to baking!

So go ahead and try it. Makan dengan ice-cream pun sodapp!

Leave a Reply

